My First Pipe Ceremony

Today our class had the honor of experiencing and participating in a pipe ceremony with Dennis Omeasoo. The night before, I had no idea what to expect; I felt anxious about participating because I have not attended a pipe ceremony before. Though I felt anxious the night before when I entered into the TPC at the University of Regina where the ceremony was being held, I felt a sense of peace. I felt as though I do not have to be anxious that I will be guided through. Dennis was a fantastic teacher; I gained much knowledge in regards to a pipe ceremony, how the ceremony holds great significance and value to Indigenous peoples. The pipe ceremony is a sacred ritual for connecting physical and spiritual worlds. Dennis stated at the ceremony how our ancestors were invited, and I felt so honored to have my ancestors join me while my classmates, instructors, and I enjoy a feast.
Dennis made note that pipe ceremonies differ from tribe to tribe. However, Dennis walked us through his ways of knowing. Women are highly respected by the men and honored by respect. Before the ceremony, women were asked to wear a long skirt/dress that went to their ankles and were told not to cross their legs. Women were also told not to participate in the ceremony as they believe women are very powerful, as we can purify naturally though menstruating.
The ceremony started with having the men and women on opposite sides of the room. Dennis’s helper came around and offered you to smudge yourself, a way of purification. Dennis started to pray in his language, while he prayed, his helper came to the men’s side and passed around the pipe. Women are highly respected by the men and honored by respect. The food was terrific; each person brought something to share with the class, there was so much food I could not finish everything that was given to me.
We were taught not to throw our food in the garbage, as our ancestors were invited to eat, and it is disrespectful to throw away the food that was provided for everyone to partake in. I usually do not eat leftovers, but out of respect for my ancestors, I did not waste it. I took my leftovers home and offered some to my husband and two kids to share as a family. It indeed was a fantastic experience, and I hope to attend and participate in more teachings and ceremonies to learn more about Indigenous ways of knowing.


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.